Israel: Jerusalem of Gold (ירושׁלים שׁל זהב)

Last week was not my first time to visit the Old City in Jerusalem. Still, the city does not cease to enchant me with its timeless beauty…

Stepping on the well worn stones dated to the Roman period…

Image

Being surrounded by the colorful scarves and blouses hanging out from the stalls…

Image

Bumping into the traditional amidst the modern,

IMG_0409[1]

IMG_0410[1]

Exploring a road less trodden,

Image

 

Finding a secret garden (Lutheran Hospice)…

Image

Dozing off on the couch sprayed with the afternoon sunshine, listening to three different church bells harmonizing with each other…

Image

Taking a deep breath of the religious atmosphere on Sabbath…

Image

Being dazzled by millions of starry lights during the Jerusalem Light Festival which lit up the whole streets of the Old City,

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

At the end, finding myself humming slowly ירושׁלים שׁל זהב “Jerusalem of Gold,” a song I learned at the Ulpan in Jerusalem in 2008:

ירושלים של זהב
ושל נחושת ושל אור
הלא לכל שירייך
אני כינור…

Jerusalem of gold,
and of bronze, and of light
Behold I am a violin
for all your songs…

Image

I wonder when will be the next time that I visit Jerusalem again?


Posted

in

,

by

Comments

Leave a comment